Zoning Bylaws

Zoning in CVRD

Each property in the CVRD is assigned a specific zone as described in one of the CVRDs nine Zoning Bylaws. Zoning is a way of regulating the use of land by categorizing properties for a specific range of permitted uses, densities, siting, and building form. The basis for zoning is the Official Community Plan (OCP), which provides objectives and policies for land use. Zoning is the main method of implementing the Regional District’s land use policies that are stated in the OCP.

Zoning by Electoral Area

Please contact a CVRD Planner before making decisions based on these documents at 250.746.2620 or 800.665.3955.

Hardcopies of the following maps and associated bylaws are available for purchase from the CVRD main office by special order only.  Please telephone 250.746.2620, allow a minimum of two (2) business days for processing. Consult the price list to view the costs of these materials.  

Area Bylaws   Maps
Area A - Mill Bay/Malahat and C - Cobble Hill (South Cowichan) Bylaw   Mill Bay Village North
Area B - Shawnigan Lake Bylaw   Index   North   South

Area D - Cowichan Bay (Marine/CEEMP Areas) Bylaw   Area D (1015)

Area D - Cowichan Bay (Uplands) Bylaw   Area D (3705)
Area E - Cowichan Station / Sahtlam / Glenora Bylaw  
Area F - Cowichan Lake South / Skutz Falls Bylaw   Index   East   Central   West
Area G - Saltair / Gulf Islands Bylaw   Area G
Area H - North Oyster / Diamond Bylaw   Area H
Area I - Youbou / Meade Creek Bylaw  

 West  East