## **News Release**



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 10, 2022

## New CVRD Board Sworn-in at Inaugural Board Meeting

**DUNCAN, BC** – Wednesday, November 9, the Cowichan Valley Regional District (CVRD) welcomed its newly elected Board of Directors and their alternates to the Inaugural Board meeting.

A total of 16 elected officials representing the CVRD's nine electoral areas and four municipalities took oaths of office and became its Board of Directors for a four-year term. The CVRD Board is now composed of the following:

Electoral Area	Director
Area A – Mill Bay / Malahat	Kate Segall
Area B – Shawnigan Lake	Sierra Acton
Area C – Cobble Hill	Mike Wilson
Area D – Cowichan Bay	Hilary Abbott
Area E – Cowichan Station / Sahtlam / Glenora	Alison Nicholson
Area F – Cowichan Lake South / Skutz Falls	Ian Morrison
Area G – Saltair / Gulf Islands	Jesse McClinton
Area H – North Oyster / Diamond	Ben Maartman
Area I – Youbou / Meade Creek	Karen Deck

Municipality	Director
City of Duncan	Michelle Staples
North Cowichan	Rob Douglas
North Cowichan	Christopher Justice
North Cowichan	Tek Manhas
North Cowichan	Debra Toporowski
Town of Ladysmith	Aaron Stone
Town of Lake Cowichan	Tim McGonigle

Following a welcome from Cowichan Elder Joe Thorne, the Oath of Office was administered to the Directors and the Board members elected a new Chair and Vice-Chair. Director Aaron Stone was elected Chair and Director Alison Nicholson was elected Vice-Chair.

"I am honoured to again have the opportunity to lead the Cowichan Valley Regional District Board as Chairperson," said Stone. "I am thankful to my colleagues for their support. Having spent the majority of my life in the Cowichan region, I appreciate the unique and collective challenges our communities are facing. Reconciliation, climate change, the ongoing impacts of the pandemic, evolving economies and shifting demographics are all critical considerations as we build our strategic plan for this four-year term. Fostering a collaborative and constructive approach to regional governance will ensure we are well positioned to face the challenges of today, and take advantage of the opportunities on the horizon. I wish to share my gratitude and sincere thanks with outgoing Chairperson Lori lannidinardo for her work over the past year. As we move forward, we will continue building on the strong foundation of her leadership."

"The CVRD would like to thank previous Chair Lori Iannidinardo for her dedication, leadership and service as Chair and as the previous Director of Area D, Cowichan Bay," said Danielle Myles-Wilson, CVRD Chief Administrative Officer. "We welcome newly elected Chair Aaron Stone and Vice-Chair Alison Nicholson and look forward to working together with other board members to continue providing vital services to the Cowichan region."

A full schedule of Board meetings and Committee of the Whole (COTW) meetings can be found in the <u>CVRD Meeting Calendar</u> and agendas and minutes for past and upcoming meetings can be found on the <u>CVRD Board and Standing Committee Meetings page</u> of the CVRD website.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Kris Schumacher
Manager, Communications & Engagement
250.701.2631
kris.schumacher@cvrd.bc.ca