

COWICHAN VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT

BYLAW No. 3622

(As Amended by Bylaw No. 3765 and 3961)

BYLAW NO. 3622 – COMMUNITY SAFETY ADVISORY COMMISSION ESTABLISHMENT BYLAW, 2012

CONSOLIDATED FOR CONVENIENCE ONLY (NOVEMBER 16, 2015)

The amendment bylaws listed below have been incorporated into enactment bylaw No. 3622 for convenience purposes only. Persons making use of the consolidated version of Bylaw No. 3622 are advised that it is not a legal document and that for the purpose of interpreting and applying the law, the original bylaws must be consulted. Certified copies of original bylaws are available through the Corporate Secretary's Office.

AMENDMENT BYLAW

EFFECTIVE DATE

Bylaw No. 3765 Bylaw No. 3961 December 11, 2013 November 12, 2015



COWICHAN VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT

BYLAW No. 3622 – Consolidated For Convenience With Amending Bylaw No. 3765 and 3961

A Bylaw to Establish a Community Safety Advisory Commission for the Cowichan Valley Regional District

WHEREAS the Board of Directors of the Cowichan Valley Regional District wishes to establish a Community Safety Advisory Commission to provide advice on safety issues of regional, subregional, and interagency importance;

NOW THEREFORE the Board of Directors of the Cowichan Valley Regional District, in open meeting assembled, enacts as follows:

1. CITATION

This bylaw may be cited for all purposes as "CVRD Bylaw No. 3622 – Community Safety Advisory Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2012".

2. **DEFINITIONS**

In this bylaw:

- a) "Commission" means the Community Safety Advisory Commission established by this Bylaw.
- b) "Board" means the Board of the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

3. **MEMBERSHIP**

The Commission shall consist of fifteen members, as follows:

- a) Eight elected representatives (appointed by their respective Council or Board):
 - i) Two CVRD Electoral Area Directors
 - ii) One Councillor from the City of Duncan
 - iii) One Councillor from the District of North Cowichan
 - iv) One Councillor from the Town of Ladysmith
 - v) One Councillor from the Town of Lake Cowichan
 - vi) One Councillor from Cowichan Tribes
 - vii) One School Trustee from School District No. 79

- b) Three representatives from the following organizations:
 - i) One representative from Social Planning Cowichan
 - ii) One representative from Community Policing
 - iii) One representative from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police
- c) Four public representatives including one person representing Youth (all selected at large following newspaper and online advertising).

4. TERM OF OFFICE

- a) The term of office for Commission members shall be as follows:
 - i) Elected Representatives:
 Begins upon their appointment by their respective Council or Board and continues
 until their term of office ends or their appointment expires. Each Council or Board
 may appoint an Alternate.
 - ii) Remaining Members: Begins upon their appointment by the Board and continues until December 31 in the year of a general local election. The Board may appoint an Alternate for the members representing organizations but not for the public representatives.
- b) Commission members may be re-appointed for a further term or terms.
- c) The Board may, at any time, terminate the appointment of a member.
- d) The Board may remove from membership any member appointed who has failed to attend three consecutive Commission meetings without good cause.

5. **PROCEDURE**

- a) At the first meeting following a general local election, the Commission shall elect from amongst its own members, a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson of the Commission who shall hold office until a successor is appointed.
- b) In the absence of the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson, the Commission shall elect from the members present a temporary Chairperson for the purpose of that meeting only.
- c) A quorum is five members.
- d) All decisions, resolutions and recommendations of the Commission shall be made by a majority of the members present at the meeting, with each member having one vote.
- e) Where not otherwise covered in this bylaw, the rules of procedure governing Commission meetings shall be those of the current Committee and Commissions Procedures Bylaw of the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

f) Minutes shall be kept for all meetings of the Commission, and a copy of such minutes shall be forwarded to the Legislative Services Division of the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

6. **RESPONSIBILITIES**

The responsibilities of the Commission shall be as follows:

- a) To advise the Board on community safety issues of regional, sub-regional and interagency importance. Advice may be in reference to programs, plans, policies, guidelines, or other local government policy instruments.
- b) To serve as a forum for multi-sectoral discussion where local government and community groups can work together. The Commission has a leading role in providing advice and support to safer communities' initiatives across the region.
- c) To be a conduit for recommendations arising from its members and from community initiatives, and for issues referred by the Board, elected officials, and staff requests.
- d) To be a resource for planning staff at various local governments and to Advisory Planning Commissions

7. **GENERAL**

- a) All members of the Commission shall serve without remuneration, except for such "out of pocket" expenditures as may have received prior authorization by the Board.
- b) No recommendation of the Commission or other matter requiring ratification by the Board shall be acted upon until it has been approved by the Board

| READ A FIRST TIME this | 12 th | _ | day of | December, 2012 |
|----------------------------|--------------------------------|--------|----------------|-----------------|
| READ A SECOND TIME this | 12 th | | day of | December , 2012 |
| READ A THIRD TIME this | 12 th | | day of | December , 2012 |
| ADOPTED this | 12 th | day of | December, 2012 | 2. |
| R. Hutchins Chairperson | J.E. Barry Corporate Secretary | | | |